March 4, 2012 – “I dreamed I was a butterfly”

Zhuangzi (or Chuang Chou) was a Chinese philosopher, who is supposed to have lived around 300BC (c. 369 BC – c. 286 BC)  – I read about him a long long time ago and I was fascinated with one of his quote that has something to do with dream and butterfly.  BI (Before Internet) I had hard time finding the actual quote.  I spent a lot of time asking about it – however as with many things, if you don’t know the right question to ask, you will get the answer you seek.  However. today in the era of Wikipedia and Google – one can find almost anything.

“Once upon a time, I, Chuang Chou, dreamt I was a butterfly, fluttering hither and thither, a veritable butterfly, enjoying itself to the full of its bent, and not knowing it was Chuang Chou. Suddenly I awoke, and came to myself, the veritable Chuang Chou. Now I do not know whether it was then I dreamt I was a butterfly, or whether I am now a butterfly dreaming I am a man.”

Leave a Reply

