June 22, 2012 – Starry Strarry Night

This is my feeble attempt to photograph the milky way.  I don’t always have the opportunity to be at a place with very little light polution.  This week’s involvement in YMCA Band Camp afforded me the rare opportunity.  Although I can’t be sure that the “patch” in the photo is the milky way, I suspected that I was in the right neighborhood.  My editing still pretty bad.  I shot alot of photos in RAW – hoping that one of these days my editing skills will improve and I can make the photo resemble the ones taken by Randy Halverson in DakotaLapse.com  His photos of the milky way are so amazing – they make me want to move to South Dakota.

 

3 thoughts on “June 22, 2012 – Starry Strarry Night

  1. I’m jealous. In the past 6 months I have been out 4 or 5 separate occasions to capture star trails. Not once have I seen this. I guess summer time brings more opportunities. Thanks for sharing!

    • I did the same thing and I was lucky to see the patch that is the Milky Way. I shot some RAW photos too – some day when my editing skills improve, I am sure that I can turn this same picture into better and clearer milky way photos. I was amazed because this place is only one hour away from where I live.

  2. Pingback: December 12, 2012 – Nightscape « Skyheartphotography One Picture a Day Project

Leave a Reply

