August 7, 2012 – Hole In One!

“Why did the golfer wear two pairs of pants? Just in case he got a hole in one”  is one of  Kelly’s  favorite jokes when playing with me.  Every golfer dreams of having a hole in one and some spend all their lives never making one.  Hole in one is not skill, it is more like a happy accident.  Yes, the golfer still needs to the get ball to the right general direction – after that, it’s mostly luck.

I made my first ever hole in one – on a very unique hole – hole 19. Forrest Dunes Golf Club, Roscommon, MI is one of the few golf course that has a hole 19 – called a “Bye Hole” a designated hole to settle all bets.  The green is unique with a bunker in the middle of the green. My buddies and I are working on a golf course review at the Forrest Dunes Golf Club – in 2011 it was #4 best golf course in Michigan and ranked #20 Golf Digest 2011/12 America’s 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses.

I have always wondered how I would react (I have witnessed one other hole in one – and I was more excited by it than the person who made it – he was quite nonchalant about it) – today I have the answers.  My buddies and I were (all four of us) were really laughing our ass off.  I couldn’t stop laughing for a good five minutes – really really loud laugh – probably enough to wake up the dead.)

This is probably one of the lamest photo I have shot so far – I was so giddy about the hole in one I just made, I have totally forgotten how to take a picture.  Luckily before I made that hole in one, I was still in a decent frame on one to shoot the photo below. 🙂

5 thoughts on “August 7, 2012 – Hole In One!

Leave a Reply

