October 28, 2012 – I Hope You Dance

I have been meaning to do this, cut portion of songs and make them into an almost coherent letter from father to daughter, so here is my first attempt:

Dear Kelly,

When you were born into this world, your mom and dad saw a dream fulfilled. A dream come true the answer to their prayers.   You were to them a special child.  You gave ’em joy every time you smiled, each time you cried they’re at your side to care.  Child, you don’t know, you’ll never know how far they’d go to give you all their love can give.  To see you through and God it’s true, they’d die for you, if they must, to see you live. How many seasons came and went so many years have now been spent. For time ran fast and now at last you’re strong (Freddie Aguilar, Child )

In a blink of an eye, have grown into a beautiful girl.  Where have all the time gone.

This is for all you girls about 13, high school can be so rough, can be so mean. Hold on to, on to your innocence, stand your ground when everybody’s givin’ in.  This one’s for the girls who’ve ever had a broken heart, Who’ve wished upon a shooting star.  You’re beautiful the way you are. This one’s for the girls who love without holdin’ back who dream with everything they have all around the world, this one’s for the girls (Martina McBride, This One’s For the Girl -)

I’m 15 for a moment caught in between 10 and 20, and I’m just dreaming counting the ways to where you are. 15 there’s still time for you time to buy and time to lose. 15, there’s never a wish better than this When you only got 100 years to live (Five for Fighting, 100 Years)

As you go on with your live, you will,  no doubt,  have your ups and downs moments.  Just remember that you mustn’t let the downs take pleasure away from your ups.  Sweet wouldn’t taste as sweet if you have never tasted bitterness.

I hope the days come easy and the moments pass slow, and each road leads you where you want to go and if you’re faced with the choice and you have to choose. I hope you choose the one that means the most to you. And if one door opens to another door closed, I hope you keep on walkin’ ‘til you find the window. If it’s cold outside, show the world the warmth of your smile, but more than anything, more than anything – My wish for you: Is that this life becomes all that you want it to Your dreams stay big, your worries stay small. You never need to carry more than you can hold, And while you’re out there gettin’ where you’re gettin’ to, I hope you know somebody loves you and wants the same things too.  Yeah, this is my wish. I hope you never look back but you never forget, all the ones who love you and the place you left. I hope you always forgive and you never regret and you help somebody every chance you get (Rascal Flatt, My Wish)

I know that it may sound like I am wishing you some tough times, but tough times happens whether or not I wished it.  I want you to be aware and be prepared for them.  Some days, it may look like the tough times will never end.  But trust me, just like the dark night will eventually give way to a warm sunrise, good times will arrive.

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder, you get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger. May you never take one single breath for granted God forbid love ever leave you empty-handed. I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance. And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance. I hope you dance

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance, never settle for the path of least resistance. Living might mean taking chances but they’re worth taking, lovin’ might be a mistake but it’s worth making. Don’t let some hell-bent heart leave you bitter when you come close to selling out reconsider Give the heavens above more than just a passing glance (Lee Ann Womack, I Hope You Dance)

As much as I would like to keep you forever under my wings, I know that at some point, you will have your own life to live, your own path to blaze.

Gotta hold on easy as I let you go gonna tell you how much I love you. Though you think you already know I remember I thought you looked like an angel wrapped in pink so soft and warm. You’ve had me wrapped around your finger since the day you were born. You beautiful baby from the outside in, chase your dreams but always know the road that’ll lead you home again. Go on, take on this whole world but to me you know you’ll always be, my little girl. When you were in trouble that crooked little smile could melt my heart of stone, now look at you, I’ve turned around and you’ve almost grown. Sometimes you’re asleep I whisper “I Love You” in the moonlight at your door as I walk away, I hear you say, “Daddy Love You More” Someday, some boy will come and ask me for your hand but I won’t say “yes” to him unless I know, he’s the half that makes you whole, he has a poet’s soul, and the heart of a man’s man. I know he’ll say that he’s in love but between you and me, he won’t be good enough. (Tim McGraw, My Little Girl)

I will be very protective just like any father would.  I know that you would want me to stay away from your love life when you meet a boy of your dream.  When the time come, I will invite the boy and have a heart to heart talk with him.

Come on in boy sit on down and tell me about yourself. So you like my daughter do you now? Yeah we think she’s something else. She’s her daddy’s girl, her momma’s world. She deserves respect that’s what she’ll get, ain’t it son? Hey y’all run along and have some fun – I’ll see you when you get back. Bet I’ll be up all night still cleanin’ this gun. (Rodney Atkins, Cleaning this Gun)

When at last you have found the man of your dream, (yes, you will!) just remember to be yourself.  Never take anything or anyone for granted.  The key to happiness is not having what you want, but it wanting what you have.

Look at the two of you dancing that way, lost in the moment and each others face. So much in love your alone in this place, like there’s nobody else in the world. I was enough for her not long ago, I was her number one she told me so. And she still means the world to me just so you know, so be careful when you hold my girl. Time changes everything, life must go on and I’m not gonna stand in your way.

How could that beautiful women with you, be the same freckle face kid that I knew. The one that I read all those fairy tales to and tucked into bed all those nights. And I knew the first time I saw you with her it was only a matter of time – But I loved her first and I held her first and a place in my heart will always be hers, from the first breath she breathed when she first smiled at me I knew the love of a father runs deep. And I prayed that she’d find you someday but its still hard to give her away. I loved her first  (Heartland, I Loved Her First)

I hope that right now, I am still your hero,  there are days that you may not think so.  It will be alright.  My love for you is unconditional.

No summer’s high, no warm July, no harvest moon to light one tender August night.  No autumn breeze, no falling leaves, not even time for birds to fly to southern skies. No Libra sun, no Halloween, no giving thanks to all the Christmas joy you bring, but what it is though old so new to fill your heart like no three words could ever do. I just called to say I love you. I just called to say how much I care, I do. I just called to say I love you, and I mean it from the bottom of my heart (Stevie Wonder, I Just Called To Say I Love You)
Love you,

Dad

2 thoughts on “October 28, 2012 – I Hope You Dance

Leave a Reply

