November 6, 2012 – New Toy

I got my new toy today.  The kind of of toy that resulted in name calling or incredulous statement such as “How could you!?” – I think in some of them the name Arnold Benedict was even mentioned.  Of course, at the other side of the coin, I also received an “attaboy!” and “about time” comment.

I am OK with those comments because I know that they are passionate people.  People will believe what they want to believe, truth rarely matters.  Some will swear that one brand is absolutely better than the other and that’s the end of the discussion.  Same belief is often applied to religions or political affiliations.  That passionate belief is very evident nowadays leading to the election day today.  This election day I would like to remind the passionate people an saying by the Buddha that goes like this:

“Do not believe in anything simply because you have heard it. Do not believe in anything simply because it is spoken and rumored by many. Do not believe in anything simply because it is found written in your religious books. Do not believe in anything merely on the authority of your teachers and elders. Do not believe in traditions because they have been handed down for many generations. But after observation and analysis, when you find that anything agrees with reason and is conducive to the good and benefit of one and all, then accept it and live up to it.”

By the way, the new toy I was talking about was the Canon T3i that I used to take these 2 photos not the toys in the photo.  I still have and will still use my D200 – I don’t see anything wrong in using both Canon and Nikon 🙂

Leave a Reply

