December 30, 2012 – One Amazing Sunset

2012_1230_S

Day three is our first full day in Orlando, Florida and we decided to drive to Tampa.  My wife heard about a place called Tarpon Spring, Florida – an interesting place by Tampa bay, one of the few areas of the world where the species of natural sponges suitable for commercial use are found.  The Greek food in this town are amazing.  Majority of the residents are Greek and the town was founded (I think) by a Greek immigrant.   We also took a “historical” tour in a sponge boat where a real life sponge harvester put on a old timey diving gear and dove for sponge.  The captain also explained how the sponge were prepared and all the good stuff.  Truth to be told, I never knew that natural sponges (non plastic ones) were water creature.  I have always thought that sponge were always made of plastic.  No wonder I was always confused about Spongebob Squarepants – because I have always wondered why would a plastic sponge be part of an undersea story.  Now, the only thing that’s left that confuse was Sandy the squirrel.  I’m sure that there is a perfectly reasonable explanation to that.

Anyway, I spent most of time trying to get a good photograph of flying pelicans until I ran out of battery.  We left before the sunset and stopped at a place called Honeymoon Island State Park, by Dunedin Causeway.  The park was closing so we didn’t linger there (this is a definitely a place worth revisiting) and we just stooped by the bay side causeway and witnessed this amazing sunset.  I know the photo didn’t do any justice to the spectacular vista that was in front of us.  It was breathtaking.  Kelly snapped this  picture of me and my wife.

2012_1230A_S

Leave a Reply

