Year 2 – May 31, 2013 Forget-Me-Not

2013_0531_S

I don’t remember if we planted this flower or if it came out of nowhere and I am sure that at some point I remember it’s name but then I have forgotten about it.  It was when I was seriously racking my brain that I remember that it may be called Forget Me Not.  A quick Bing image search confirmed my suspicion.

In a German legend, God named all the plants when a tiny unnamed one cried out, “Forget-me-not, O Lord!” God replied, “That shall be your name.”

Henry IV adopted the flower as his symbol during his exile in 1398, and retained the symbol upon his return to England the following year.

In 15th-century Germany, it was supposed that the wearers of the flower would not be forgotten by their lovers. Legend has it that in medieval times, a knight and his lady were walking along the side of a river. He picked a posy of flowers, but because of the weight of his armour he fell into the river. As he was drowning he threw the posy to his loved one and shouted “Forget-me-not.” It was often worn by ladies as a sign of faithfulness and enduring love.

Since this would be the last of the May Flower theme – I think it is quite fitting to end with this flower.  So, forget me not.

3 thoughts on “Year 2 – May 31, 2013 Forget-Me-Not

Leave a Reply

