Year 2 – June 27, 2013 Emerald Ash Borer

2013_0627_S

I thought this bug looks kinda cute so after I photograph it – I let it go.  I didn’t know what it was until much much later because the color looks very interesting.  For the life of me, I never once thought about the fact that green and the word emerald are synonymous and then suddenly it hit me – could this be the fearsome Emerald Ash borer.  A little bit of Binging – I confirmed my suspicion – this is indeed the emerald ash borer.  What have I done.  I have just let the monster go.  I have become the destroyer of trees.

Just in case you don’t know of the The emerald ash borer, Agrilus planipennis, is a green beetle native to Asia and Eastern Russia. Outside its native region, the emerald ash borer is an invasive species, and Emerald ash borer infestation is highly destructive to ash trees in its introduced range.

The most significant damage to a tree by the Emerald Ash Borer takes place when the insect is in its larval stage. In an infestation, larvas’ bore holes essentially disrupt the flow of nutrients as they rise up the trunk from the roots to the crown via the phloem (the tree’s vascular structures) just under the bark. This eventually results in the death of the tree. This can take place over a number of years, and the first noticeable sign is usually some die back in the crown of the tree. The tree will usually be dead by the following year or soon after. In areas where the insect is invasive and has no natural predators, it can and usually does have a devastating effect on the local ash tree population.

Leave a Reply

