February 1, 2016 – It is Better to Light a Candle

IMG_2311_copy

It is better to light a candle than curse the darkness

Over the years I have taken and posted quite a few photos of candles.  It would seem like I am big on candles but I really am not.  I seldom have candles at home but when I do, I have this unexplained urge to take a picture of them and then at some point, invariably, I will be compelled to quote “it is better to light a candle than curse the darkness” – weird!

By the way, I don’t know if you have noticed that the quote has been attributed to Eleanor Roosevelt, Confucius, the bible, someone name Adlai Stevenson and a plain-old-catch-all Chinese proverb.  I am too lazy to track down the origin so whomever you think it’s right, is fine by me.  It does sound like something Confucius would say.

On that note, do you realize that you can preface any saying with “Confucius say” and suddenly you sound wiser?  try it – “Confucius say: Man who tell one too many light bulb jokes will soon burn out!”  very wise indeed.

20160130_134701-Edit_copy

selfie

Leave a Reply

